Domestic Violence Charges in VA

Our Fairfax Criminal Lawyers Can Help Defend You

Have you been charged with a domestic violence offense? Be forewarned that police officers, judges, and juries tend to take the side of the victim. Even if the victim drops the charges against you, the state can still choose to prosecute and you can suffer long hours in court or a loss of reputation. The defense tactics of a skilled and experienced criminal attorney may be able to protect your future.

Do not hesitate to call Langone & Fasullo, PLLC at (703) 391-1161.

What is a Domestic Violence Offense?

In Virginia, domestic violence can include threats, attempts to cause bodily harm, or injuring a family or household member. Spouses, partners, parents, children, siblings, and roommates can all file domestic abuse charges against you.

What Penalties Can I Expect?

Accusations of domestic violence are taken very seriously and carry with them steep consequences.

In Virginia, you can face the following penalties for a domestic violence offense:

  • First time assault and battery against a family member: This is a Class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable by up to one year in jail and a minimum fine of $2,500. You can be placed on probation or forced to undergo treatment.
  • Second assault and battery charge against a family member: This is a Class 6 felony and is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $2,500.
  • First time violation of a protective order: This is a Class 1 misdemeanor offense and includes committing any crime, contacting a prohibited person, or visiting a prohibited place.
  • Second violation of a protective order: This will result in a minimum 60-day jail sentence.
  • Third or subsequent violation of a protective order: This is a Class 6 felony and you will be forced to serve a minimum sentence of six months in jail.
  • Assault and battery causing serious injury against a person under a protective order: This is a Class 6 felony.
  • Entering the home of a person under a protective order: This is a Class 6 felony.

Langone & Fasullo, PLLC Can Help Fight to Exonerate You

If you are convicted of domestic violence, not only will you have a mark on your criminal record and destroyed reputation, you may also have to deal with other negative repercussions such as not getting to see your children and being forced out of your home. Our attorneys may be able to assist you. When you retain an attorney from our firm, your lawyer will remain accessible and respond personally to most matters. Our lawyers are honest and will help you understand your options, whether favorable or unfavorable, so that you are fully informed.

For a free and confidential consultation, call our office at (703) 391-1161 today!